The Central Moneymarkets Unit (CMU) was established in 1990 to provide computerised clearing and settlement facilities for Exchange Fund Bills and Notes. In December 1993, the HKMA extended the service to other Hong Kong dollar debt securities. The CMU offers an efficient, safe and convenient clearing and custodian system for Hong Kong dollar debt instruments. The CMU service was further extended to non-Hong Kong dollar debt securities in January 1996. Over the years, the CMU has evolved to become the clearing and settlement system in Hong Kong for debt securities denominated in Hong Kong dollars and other major currencies, facilitating the bond market development in Hong Kong.
​​​​
Today, the CMU has developed various external links with regional and international central securities depositories (CSDs) for a broader service coverage. Beyond settling debt securities, the CMU now also offers an extensive range of post-trade and debt issuance services, providing members a secure and efficient system across borders.

The CMU is a member of the Asia-Pacific Central Securities Depository Group (ACG) since 2001.

Understand more about what we do: Our Range of Services.

Hong Kong's Financial Infrastructure

The multi-currency, multi-dimensional payment and settlement platform of the HKMA, with extensive domestic and overseas system linkages, has helped maintain Hong Kong as a regional hub for payment and settlement of funds and securities (See diagram below).

Hong Kong's Multi-Currency Financial infrastructure Click to view original image

 

Last revision date : 26 Jul 2022

按圖放大檢視债务工具中央结算系统(CMU)于1990年设立,为外汇基金票据及债券提供电脑化结算交收服务。 1993年12月,金管局将这项服务推扩至其他港元债券,为港元债券提供高效率、安全及方便的结算托管系统。 CMU系统在1996年1月将服务进一步推扩至非港元债券。经过多年来的服务优化与扩展,CMU已发展成为香港以港元及其他主要货币计价债务证券的结算托管系统,促进了香港债券市场的发展。

今天,CMU 已经与不同区内和国际中央证券托管机构 (CSD) 建立了联网,以扩展服务网络。作为一个全面、安全、高效的跨境系统,除债务证券结算外,CMU亦向会员提供一系列债务发行和交易后服务。

CMU 自2001年起成为亚太区中央证券存管处组织(ACG)会员。在2024年,CMU加入了国际证券服务协会(ISSA),成为董事会成员机构。

了解更多CMU的业务:我们的服务范围

香港的金融基建

金管局的多币种、多层面的支付交收平台设有与本地及境外系统的广泛联网,有助维持香港作为区内资金及证券支付结算中心的地位(见下图)。

香港多种货币金融基建 按图放大检视

 

修订日期 : 2024年03月13日